Home Forums Wiki Doc Install Extras Screenshots Source Code Projects Blog Users Groups Register
Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Ideas | Propositions [TBR] Interface configuration tweaking
The latest stable release is the *3.4.0* : How to install it here.
Note: We just switched from BZR to Git on Github! (only to host the code and your future pull requests)
Ideas | Propositions

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] [TBR] Interface configuration tweaking
Page : 1 2 3
SQP English 42 matttbe [Read]
11 April 2012 à 13:32

SQP, Monday 26 September 2011 à 23:13


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
As I still have some improvement ideas, I start this new interface upgrade thread where I'll propose some changes with screens if possible.

The first idea I already talked on IRC is to get a cleaner advanced config UI, looking more like the CCSM interface :
    • less frames
    • less bold and underline
    • move filter to top and give it focus by default


First screen is current config, second is my first test, and third is CCSM interface
http://uppix.net/5/6/c/8f1c1a70b3b6b2a4b7d39ca73667d.png http://uppix.net/1/4/7/a40ce5133a6f5358af877393f9688.png http://uppix.net/e/6/2/131fab1c944126c5e18560cd5cdfe.png

SQP, Friday 07 October 2011 à 17:31


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
here is the new screen of my tests with the config.

  • Filter on top with focus is really great for user interaction
  • Checked the All box by default to better see what those group buttons are for.


hope you'll like it.

http://uppix.net/c/4/a/888db18d5ccffe0fe4ebd024796ebtt.jpg

matttbe, Friday 07 October 2011 à 19:19


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
It seems nice
And what about the preview and the manuel of an applet?

SQP, Saturday 11 February 2012 à 12:02


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
Here is a slightly improved version of this test.
The goal is still to have a visually lighter interface.
I still have problems with the categories toolbar (have to force size and can't remove borders) but I guess this is already an improvement on the previous interface

http://uppix.fr/?di=8FHC
GTK2 with default theme

matttbe, Saturday 11 February 2012 à 14:29


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
I think this is a good idea to have the filter before the categories box (I think many people don't see it).
Also, I think it can be interesting to have a different background on the main frame (just like the ccsm) and we can maybe use the same icon on this main frame too.

SQP, Monday 13 February 2012 à 23:02


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
  • added some space before the filter label (used an empty box, if you know better...)
  • removed the shadow on the scrollable area. Replaced by vertical separator in the middle


Is the status bar used in some way ? (the simple mode only has a truncated version)

http://uppix.net/d/3/f/887fcd3ea54608a26f99cf68993a3.png

(reduced my gtk font size from 11 to 9)

fabounet, Wednesday 15 February 2012 à 13:02


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
yep seems good, although why removing the frames around the categories in the main frame (and replacing them with separators) ?

SQP, Saturday 18 February 2012 à 13:18


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
The separator change on the right is a test to look more like ccsm. It's another step to a lighter layout. I find the interface really more attractive like this.

I watched the layout of the ccsm window with gtkparasite, and it seem they use some custom widgets for categories buttons and the module list (the one with the white background)
If I'm not wrong, here is the ccsm widgets code page. You'll better understand it than me.
For now, as I'm having problems with the left toolbar changes, I'll have to split what I think is already commitable (the filter move, and some display changes) and delay some other.
(if I force toolbar size, the window will resize if it's too small to show module picture)

I would like to introduce an idea for modules with more than one instance enabled. A click on the configure button should raise a small menu with instances list (using their defined names). This would work for both simple and advanced modes. For simple, instead of having
Configure this applet
, we will see 2 or 3 :
Configure : module name


I was also thinking about my old idea to show only enabled modules.
Maybe it could be nicely done with a select with those options :
Show applets : All / Enabled / Disabled

That would really enhance my ability to find what I need when I open this window. (and I guess I'm not the only one)
Here is a screen with a small hack to get an idea of how I could look. It already allow me to see all my usefull icons
http://uppix.net/c/2/7/b8bed89d2e8e0cfd9ec0fea4c4a78.png

fabounet, Tuesday 21 February 2012 à 12:19


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
I would like to introduce an idea for modules with more than one instance enabled. A click on the configure button should raise a small menu with instances list (using their defined names). This would work for both simple and advanced modes.

I see, however I think that most of the time when we want to configure an applet, we do it from the menu (or from the items window), so you already specify the instance you want to configure
also, the menu wouldn't let you distinguish easily which instance represents each line in the menu.

All / Enabled / Disabled

ok, except that Disabled seems not useful

PS: I'm working on the simple window in the background. no link with the advanced window, just in case you would touch this part too

SQP, Friday 24 February 2012 à 00:55


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
fabounet :
I see, however I think that most of the time when we want to configure an applet, we do it from the menu (or from the items window), so you already specify the instance you want to configure
also, the menu wouldn't let you distinguish easily which instance represents each line in the menu.



I know it's better to use the items window, but I'm talking about the behaviour of the config applets buttons.
Atm, for multiple instances applets, a click on the configure button, will just redirect on a random (from user pov) instance of that applet configuration.
I guess it's still better to have a list with 2 or 3 items to choose between, even blindly (when not renamed), than having that choice made randomly for us.
The user would just have to give different names to his different instances to get a better display.


ok, except that Disabled seems not useful


I would personally have no use for the "All" option. Enabled would be my default option, and I would sometimes switch to "disabled" to find the applet I want to activate.
I would even have suggested to move those disabled applets under an "enable applet" button but that idea really lower the filter box efficiency.


PS: I'm working on the simple window in the background. no link with the advanced window, just in case you would touch this part too


I would only have to switch some elements size to have them use all space available. (and kill those useless full window size frame (like in applets or shortcuts))

PS : while I'm with interface improvements ideas : the theme window don't need save and delete tabs. They might be better with popup window. Even if I'm not a big fan of those, for 2 actions requiring user entry and confirmation, it could be a wise choice.

SQP, Saturday 25 February 2012 à 08:07


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
@fabounet : avec le changement de "on_delete_main_gui" ou un truc dans le genre, après avoir fermé ma fenetre de config avancée, je peux plus l'ouvrir
Revision 997

invalid uninstantiatable type `<invalid>' in cast to `GtkWindow'
gtk_window_present_with_time: assertion `GTK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed
invalid uninstantiatable type `<invalid>' in cast to `GtkWindow'
gtk_window_move: assertion `GTK_IS_WINDOW (window)' failed


Edit: GTK2 a l'air de marcher

Edit2: en fait ca a l'air d'être si je ferme la fenetre avec le bouton Close au lieu d'utiliser celui de la barre de titre

SQP, Sunday 26 February 2012 à 19:33


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
Here is the patch : http://bazaar.launchpad.net/~sqp/cairo-dock-core/main-gui-filter-tweak/revision/1007

Main Gui : Some tweaks to get a better look.
-Move filter box to top and give it focus.
-Hide box around preview image.
-Use default GTK font for frames and buttons titles.
-Removed some frames shadows.


Bugs related to the left categories toolbar resize (no names in the list under the arrow) are just kept. I just skipped that part for now to keep the exact current behaviour. If it isn't perfect, I didn't figured out atm how to do better.

GTK 2
http://uppix.net/3/4/4/be902454ddfeb467d70c7416b3f15.png

GTK 3
http://uppix.net/5/7/2/723cf466f70cd919a17b8fbe7bd2a.png

Enable module corner
http://uppix.net/0/4/2/b189298dd65b864481f91445f9867.png

matttbe, Sunday 26 February 2012 à 23:04


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Ca semble pas mal! (au niveau visuel, je n'ai pas checké le code mais je suppose qu'il l'est aussi)
Par contre, que pensez-vous d'ajouter un peu d'espace entre le filtre et la liste des catégories?

Sinon, si Fab est d'accord, je peux merger

fabounet, Monday 27 February 2012 à 13:50


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
I guess it's still better to have a list with 2 or 3 items to choose between, even blindly (when not renamed), than having that choice made randomly for us.

je trouve pas que l'on gagne grand chose du coup.

Par contre, que pensez-vous d'ajouter un peu d'espace entre le filtre et la liste des catégories?

yep, si on a encore la place avec la prévue de l'applet (et il faut penser aux petits écrans)

@fabounet : avec le changement de "on_delete_main_gui" ou un truc dans le genre, après avoir fermé ma fenetre de config avancée, je peux plus l'ouvrir

arf exact, une boulette
je suppose qu'on peut juste revert mes changement dans le gui-main.c (je pense que c'est là)

SQP, Tuesday 28 February 2012 à 21:18


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
J'ai pas essayé de laisser trop d'espace parce que si la taille de la liste des catégories est réduite, le bouton avec la flèche pour voir les items masqués foire pas mal.
Et j'ai encore besoin de mettre mon filtre à modules cachés dans cette zone (entre les 2 est le meilleur emplacement)

Ah j'ai oublié de préciser, à tester, le changement des fontes pour utiliser la fonte par défaut avec les tags large et x-large pour les titres (meilleure intégration avec l'environnement de l'utilisateur)

je trouve pas que l'on gagne grand chose du coup.

bah si t'as une liste de 2 ou 3 items toujours dans le même ordre, t'arrives normalement assez vite à trouver celui qui t'intéresse.
Si en plus tu peux leur donner des noms appropriés au passage c'est parfait.

C'est mieux qu'un accès aléatoire sur une des instance et pas d'accès aux autres à partir de cette interface maîtresse du dock.

fabounet, Wednesday 29 February 2012 à 12:55


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
le changement des fontes pour utiliser la fonte par défaut

+1, bonne idée


bah si t'as une liste de 2 ou 3 items toujours dans le même ordre, t'arrives normalement assez vite à trouver celui qui t'intéresse.
Si en plus tu peux leur donner des noms appropriés au passage c'est parfait.
C'est mieux qu'un accès aléatoire sur une des instance et pas d'accès aux autres à partir de cette interface maîtresse du dock.


ok, à voir en fonction du niveau de complexité que ça ajoute, car on peut tout aussi simplement passer par un clic droit sur l'applet en question

matttbe, Wednesday 29 February 2012 à 18:21


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Mais du coup, est-ce que je peux merger?

fabounet, Friday 02 March 2012 à 12:30


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
yep !

SQP, Friday 02 March 2012 à 12:59


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
\o/

bon faut que je finisse de vérifier le code et si il n'y a aucun effet secondaire, mais normalement j'ai 2 patchs pret :
-l'option hide disabled modules
-des modifications pour utiliser tout l'espace disponible sur les pages thèmes, shortkey, et modules du panneau simplifié

matttbe, Friday 02 March 2012 à 14:44


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Cool

@SQP: je merge déjà ceci => https://bazaar.launchpad.net/~sqp/cairo-dock-core/main-gui-filter-tweak/revision/1007

Ideas | Propositions

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] [TBR] Interface configuration tweaking
Page : 1 2 3
SQP English 42 matttbe [Read]
11 April 2012 à 13:32


Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Ideas | Propositions [TBR] Interface configuration tweaking Top

Online users :

Powered by ElementSpeak © 2007 Adrien Pilleboue, 2009-2013 Matthieu Baerts.
Dock based on CSS Dock Menu (Ndesign) with jQuery. Icons by zgegball
Cairo-Dock is a free software under GNU-GPL3 licence. First stable version created by Fabounet.
Many thanks to TuxFamily for the web Hosting and Mav for the domain name.