Home Forums Wiki Doc Install Extras Screenshots Source Code Projects Blog Users Groups Register
Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Applets | Applets Application menu in Xfce.
The latest stable release is the *3.4.0* : How to install it here.
Note: We just switched from BZR to Git on Github! (only to host the code and your future pull requests)
Applets | Applets

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] Application menu in Xfce.
Page : 1 2
Guest English 26 fabounet [Read]
22 October 2013 à 17:28

lylambda, Monday 21 October 2013 à 22:11


Subscription date : 06 September 2009
Messages : 1635
Thanks for this solution ! That works perfectly.
We can pass this subject as solved, isn't ?

matttbe, Monday 21 October 2013 à 22:36


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
We can pass this subject as solved, isn't ?
Yes but just before that, can you check if you still have this bug with the latest revision (without modifying XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP environment variable)

(rev 2995)

lylambda, Tuesday 22 October 2013 à 13:25


Subscription date : 06 September 2009
Messages : 1635
It's seem that didn't work with the last rev and without modifying XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP environment variable.

matttbe, Tuesday 22 October 2013 à 13:56


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Even with this command?
cairo-dock -e xfce

fabounet, Tuesday 22 October 2013 à 17:00


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
Matttbe, the problem is not if we can use g_app_info_should_show(), since actually the items are filtered by libgnomemenu before we can even put them in the menu or not
and I think they directly use the env variable

Edit: look at this beautiful code

desktop = g_getenv ("XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP");
if (!desktop || desktop[0] == '\0')
current_desktop = g_strdup ("GNOME");
else
current_desktop = g_strdup (desktop);


now I think we can seriously fill a bug report to them, and meanwhile, set the XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP ourselves (I have a patch)

matttbe, Tuesday 22 October 2013 à 17:16


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573


Yes ok!

But why should we use g_desktop_app_info_set_desktop_env()?

fabounet, Tuesday 22 October 2013 à 17:28


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
g_desktop_app_info_set_desktop_env allows gio to know the desktop (I think they don't check XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP, they let you set the value through this function, and it's up to you to get the desktop value by any way (although I don't know any other way to get it than by XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP, and I think it has become the standard now)

and then gio uses this value for g_desktop_app_info_should_show, but if not set, they will return FALSE, and we don't want that because I think it's better to show more apps than having missing apps
(and it's only a workaround, the system should set XDG_CURRENT_DESKTOP, I think we can consider it as a bug if it's not set)

Applets | Applets

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] Application menu in Xfce.
Page : 1 2
Guest English 26 fabounet [Read]
22 October 2013 à 17:28


Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Applets | Applets Application menu in Xfce. Top

Online users :

Powered by ElementSpeak © 2007 Adrien Pilleboue, 2009-2013 Matthieu Baerts.
Dock based on CSS Dock Menu (Ndesign) with jQuery. Icons by zgegball
Cairo-Dock is a free software under GNU-GPL3 licence. First stable version created by Fabounet.
Many thanks to TuxFamily for the web Hosting and Mav for the domain name.