Home Forums Wiki Doc Install Extras Screenshots Source Code Projects Blog Users Groups Register
Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Technical discussions | Discussions techniques cairo-dock won't launch konsole and go to shell scripts
The latest stable release is the *3.4.0* : How to install it here.
Note: We just switched from BZR to Git on Github! (only to host the code and your future pull requests)
Technical discussions | Discussions techniques

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] cairo-dock won't launch konsole and go to shell scripts
qazdsa English 7 fabounet [Read]
25 November 2011 à 12:02

qazdsa, Wednesday 23 November 2011 à 06:24


Subscription date : 23 November 2011
Messages : 2
hi,
i stiil install cairo-dock version 2.1.3-10-lucid

why cairo-dock won't launch konsole and go to shell scripts (like python or sh)?
but from Kmenu we can launch itu with code:
sh -c "cd /home/project/school/ && ./test1.py --help;sudo -s"

Thanx, any help would be appreciated

matttbe, Wednesday 23 November 2011 à 11:45


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Hello,

Is it possible to use a newer version because this one is a bit old. Your bug is maybe fixed. You can use our repository or our ppa: http://www.glx-dock.org/ww_page.php?p=From%20the%20repository&lang=en

fabounet, Wednesday 23 November 2011 à 16:29


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
also, you might want to use something like
konsole -e "your-command-here"

qazdsa, Wednesday 23 November 2011 à 17:44


Subscription date : 23 November 2011
Messages : 2
thanks for suggestions, @matttbe now my version 2.4.0~2

@fabounet, after i change to

konsole -e "cd /home/project/school/ && ./test1.py --help;sudo -s"

the konsole appear, and not happen anything

so, i create new simple launcher for test cairo-dock with
konsole -e "cd /home; ls"

and got report:

Warning: Could not find 'cd /home; ls', starting '/bin/bash' instead. Please check your profile settings.

look from log error, i've warned:

konsole(4071): "Could not find binary: " "cd"

matttbe, Thursday 24 November 2011 à 09:08


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Can you check if the option to launch this command in a terminal is enabled. Can you try your command with simple quotes instead of double quotes

Guest, Thursday 24 November 2011 à 15:47

is it not a problem with your command normally "cd" is to navigate through folder but for launching a command you do not need cd

matttbe, Thursday 24 November 2011 à 17:06


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Ok so it's maybe better to launch a script or using sh -c command. (maybe you can use an argument like '--working-directory=DIRNAME' to not use cd)

fabounet, Friday 25 November 2011 à 12:02


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
maybe linked to https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/kdebase/+bug/43965 ?

try with konsole -e sh -c "your commands here"

or maybe you could try to fill the command entry with your commands (without the konsole -e ""), and thick the option to launch it in a terminal (in the extra parameters of the launcher).

Technical discussions | Discussions techniques

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] cairo-dock won't launch konsole and go to shell scripts
qazdsa English 7 fabounet [Read]
25 November 2011 à 12:02


Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Technical discussions | Discussions techniques cairo-dock won't launch konsole and go to shell scripts Top

Online users :

Powered by ElementSpeak © 2007 Adrien Pilleboue, 2009-2013 Matthieu Baerts.
Dock based on CSS Dock Menu (Ndesign) with jQuery. Icons by zgegball
Cairo-Dock is a free software under GNU-GPL3 licence. First stable version created by Fabounet.
Many thanks to TuxFamily for the web Hosting and Mav for the domain name.