Home Forums Wiki Doc Install Extras Screenshots Source Code Projects Blog Users Groups Register
Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation Doncky Applet stops keeping time
The latest stable release is the *3.4.0* : How to install it here.
Note: We just switched from BZR to Git on Github! (only to host the code and your future pull requests)
Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] Doncky Applet stops keeping time
BobH English 17 BobH [Read]
08 March 2011 à 03:38

BobH, Friday 04 March 2011 à 01:51


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
Ubuntu 10.10 - AMD 64 - CD 2.3.0 ORC2 - OpenGL - Nvidia GT220 -
I have an unusual problem with a simple Doncky applet that displays the current time.The time display just freezes (stops keeping time).It may work for an hour or quit right after boot. I've tried the uptime command as per the instructions and also tried using a simple system date command with the same results.Nothing else seems to be affected and the clock app with CD works fine.
I've tried it with and without open GL.
I'm not seeing any system errors in the logs or unusual CPU usage.
Heres the code.
<doncky>

    <!-- Time -->
    <font>Terminal Bitstream Vera Sans Italic Bold 10</font>

    <br>4</br>
    
    <color>255;255;255;255</color>
    <alignW>center</alignW>
    <cmd>
    <echo>$(date +%I:%M:%S)</echo>
    <refresh>1</refresh>
    </cmd>

    
    

</doncky>

nochka85, Friday 04 March 2011 à 19:14


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408

Can you try this :

<doncky>
    <br>4</br>
    <!-- Time -->
    <alignW>center</alignW>
    <font>Terminal Bitstream Vera Sans Italic Bold 10</font>
    <color>255;255;255;255</color>
    <cmd>
        <echo>`uptime | cut -d" " -f2`</echo>
        <refresh>1</refresh>
    </cmd>
</doncky>

BobH, Friday 04 March 2011 à 20:07


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
nochka85 :

Can you try this :

<doncky>
    <br>4</br>
    <!-- Time -->
    <alignW>center</alignW>
    <font>Terminal Bitstream Vera Sans Italic Bold 10</font>
    <color>255;255;255;255</color>
    <cmd>
        <echo>`uptime | cut -d" " -f2`</echo>
        <refresh>1</refresh>
    </cmd>
</doncky>


I'll try it again EXACTLY as posted but as I stated above I've already tried the uptime command with the same results.It's somehow related to the refresh<1> and the time function. If I drop the seconds and refresh every 60 sec it seems to solve (so far) the problem. Wish I could be of more help and thanks. BTW I'm running the CPU usage,Ram and Nvidia temp in applets at the same time. with no problem.

nochka85, Friday 04 March 2011 à 21:34


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408
Well, it's really strange because I use this command (exactly as specify) and I don't have any problem with it ....
for example, it's running for more than 3 hours without any problem in this screenshot : (and 2 times !!! ... the second desklet in blue is just a try )
http://uppix.net/3/9/e/53682b6502491be43aecd151a8aa7tt.jpg

... did you try the exact command I've posted ??

PS: By the way, I'm looking for a designer to do something like the blue doncky instance .... with the same shape, but with this kind of look :
http://uppix.net/3/6/d/8c83890c0ffa3e3b4545249fe5fdb.png

BobH, Saturday 05 March 2011 à 00:10


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
nochka85 :

... did you try the exact command I've posted ??

PS: By the way, I'm looking for a designer to do something like the blue doncky instance .... with the same shape, but with this kind of look :
http://uppix.net/3/6/d/8c83890c0ffa3e3b4545249fe5fdb.png


I'm running it now. I will let you know. I'll play with your design a bit.

nochka85, Saturday 05 March 2011 à 01:41


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408
Thanks

BobH, Saturday 05 March 2011 à 02:02


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
nochka85 :

Can you try this :

<doncky>
    <br>4</br>
    <!-- Time -->
    <alignW>center</alignW>
    <font>Terminal Bitstream Vera Sans Italic Bold 10</font>
    <color>255;255;255;255</color>
    <cmd>
        <echo>`uptime | cut -d" " -f2`</echo>
        <refresh>1</refresh>
    </cmd>
</doncky>


OK the problems not in the <echo> uptime or <echo> date cmd but in the placement of the linefeed,alignment,font and color statements.I ran the command EXACTLY as posted with the uptime statement - all works fine - I replaced uptime with the system date function - all works fine .

P.S. Unless I'm missing something the xml code I used should work fine.

matttbe, Saturday 05 March 2011 à 11:06


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
@nochka: can you add a refresh button as workaround? Just like switcher...

nochka85, Saturday 05 March 2011 à 11:42


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408
Allready exists : middle clic on the desklet

BobH, Sunday 06 March 2011 à 03:52


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
BobH :
nochka85 :

... did you try the exact command I've posted ??

PS: By the way, I'm looking for a designer to do something like the blue doncky instance .... with the same shape, but with this kind of look :
http://uppix.net/3/6/d/8c83890c0ffa3e3b4545249fe5fdb.png


I'm running it now. I will let you know. I'll play with your design a bit.

Is This about what your looking for ? http://uppix.net/1/0/9/90c037f1df90f62ecc99cd20dc034.png

nochka85, Sunday 06 March 2011 à 10:22


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408
Exactly ... But with a round frame on the right
... And a reflect picture on foreground

taiebot65, Sunday 06 March 2011 à 14:26


Subscription date : 26 October 2008
Messages : 1904
and why not a reflect integrated to doncky?
Exemple
<image> home/mon image </image>
<reflect>25%</reflect>

nochka85, Sunday 06 March 2011 à 16:14


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408
It exists in config ... I don't want to make it again

BobH, Monday 07 March 2011 à 22:10


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
BobH :
nochka85 :

... did you try the exact command I've posted ??

PS: By the way, I'm looking for a designer to do something like the blue doncky instance .... with the same shape, but with this kind of look :
http://uppix.net/3/6/d/8c83890c0ffa3e3b4545249fe5fdb.png

http://uppix.net/2/c/9/1f1c8bd4f682a1dd5e615e34a74ca.png

here the same file in a .svg format http://dl.free.fr/pVQIhWNEy

nochka85, Monday 07 March 2011 à 23:02


Subscription date : 29 November 2007
Messages : 7408
Thanks.
Now I just need to add "areas" in Doncky ...

BobH, Monday 07 March 2011 à 23:09


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
nochka85 :
Thanks.
Now I just need to add "areas" in Doncky ...

Theres a little white on the left two corners that I'll fix that didn't save correctly. I'll post the repaired pic shortly.

BobH, Monday 07 March 2011 à 23:50


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
nochka85 :
Thanks.
Now I just need to add "areas" in Doncky ...

Here you go. png and .svg

http://uppix.net/a/4/c/b47fe8af5a323b9b1de6430f03bb0.png
http://dl.free.fr/pWZQ95RWx

BobH, Tuesday 08 March 2011 à 03:38


Subscription date : 14 January 2011
Messages : 122
nochka85 :
Thanks.
Now I just need to add "areas" in Doncky ...


http://uppix.net/8/9/c/fe367185fd1bc1597b2b5c3ba8ed7.png

This took about 5/min and might give you a few ideas .

Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
[Locked] Doncky Applet stops keeping time
BobH English 17 BobH [Read]
08 March 2011 à 03:38


Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation Doncky Applet stops keeping time Top

Online users :

Powered by ElementSpeak © 2007 Adrien Pilleboue, 2009-2013 Matthieu Baerts.
Dock based on CSS Dock Menu (Ndesign) with jQuery. Icons by zgegball
Cairo-Dock is a free software under GNU-GPL3 licence. First stable version created by Fabounet.
Many thanks to TuxFamily for the web Hosting and Mav for the domain name.