Installation problems | Problèmes à l'installation
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:29
|
|
|
Hi,
i made this little script to activate it when i am switching from internal display to external vga display. But almost every time i have this pop up window:
Use OpenGL with Cairo-Dock? .
Using Xubuntu 9.10, and do not want to use openGL.
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
killall conky
conky
killall cairo-dock
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
Thanks
P.S. Need to kill conky and cairo-dock because screen is then messed up. |
matttbe, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:38
|
|
Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
|
Mmh, no sure that this script works fine : if you launch conky in the same process of the script, it will wait for the end of conky to killall CD and restart it.
So simply add & after conky :killall conky && conky &
killall cairo-dock && sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:39
|
|
|
Extra question-i am newbie with shell scripts (ok this is maybe my first one)-sometimes (especially after reboot-added the same script to startup, because xubuntu won´t recognize my plugged monitor) i have multiple instances of cairo-dock poping up. On the other hand sometimes i can not have displayed both cairo-dock and conky at the same time, so i need to press few times my panel icon with this script.
Can maybe someone suggest me what should i add to those lines to have them properly working? |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:42
|
|
|
Thanks for answer: i have this script now, but nothing works from this point-no conky - no cairo dock;
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
killall conky && conky &
killall cairo-dock && sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:45
|
|
|
NOOOO-update: now it works-ok-i will explain-i made two little icons-one to shut off internal display, one to shut off external:just need to test if it works after reboot...
Set2.sh
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --off
killall cairo-dock -c
killall conky
cairo-dock -c
conky
Set1.sh
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
killall conky && conky &
killall cairo-dock && sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:53
|
|
|
Unfortunately, conky won´t to display. Other then that-i have no multiple cairo-dock poping up, but i got still that pop-up Use OpenGL with Cairo-Dock? |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 21:58
|
|
|
Ok, this is working now-switching between displays-will test reboot:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
killall conky
killall cairo-dock
conky &
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --off
killall conky
killall cairo-dock
conky &
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
|
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 22:25
|
|
|
UPDATE: i tried these scripts, but after every reboot i got two instances of cairo-dock running at the same time. And of course, that pop-up window
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
conky &
cairo-dock -c &
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
killall conky
killall cairo-dock
conky &
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
But when machine is running those two scripts up are working very nice-i have no multiple instances and conky and cairo-dock are running ok.
P.S. And, of course, i disabled cairo-dock in startup programs. |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 22:42
|
|
|
Ok, update:
This script i made for start-up-it runs only one instance of conky and cairo-dock, but still get that pop up window:
Set0.sh
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
conky
cairo-dock -c
This script i have to switch to dell mini 10v display-when i press it for the first time after reboot, i have two instances of cairo-dock running. So i need to press panel button again (to restart it) and then everything is normal:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --off
killall conky
killall cairo-dock
conky &
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
The third script is connecting back to vga display-it works fine:
Set2.sh**
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
killall conky
killall cairo-dock
conky &
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
Any idea? |
matttbe, Monday 08 February 2010 à 23:34
|
|
Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
|
Maybe... do you "save" your session ? => if you open a terminal and then you reboot your session, do you still have a terminal after that ? |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 23:39
|
|
|
I really do not know what you mean by saving session. Or how can i in terminal reboot it... |
Guest, Monday 08 February 2010 à 23:46
|
|
|
Ok, i ran in terminal xfce4-session-logout, when i came back, terminal was opened but also 2 instances of cairo-dock running... |
Guest, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 09:00
|
|
|
And-any idea?
Sometimes i got two instances of cairo-doch after switching from one display to another, (switching to external display causes no problems), and after reboot i still have this pop-up.... |
matttbe, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 13:07
|
|
Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
|
Check about Saving session in 'Parameters' menu of XFCE. I'm not running with XFCE so I don't know where is located this option.
But this is where I've to go for Gnome : In the menu "System" / "Preferences" / "Sessions" or "Startup applications" , "Options" tab, do not enable "Remember running applications..."
and for KDE : Go to "Configure your desktop" / "Advanced" tab / "Session manager" and in the section "At login" tick "Start with an empty session"
You should have something like that |
Guest, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 13:34
|
|
|
This is what i have-but i do not see something similar - only option to remember session-but it is deactivated:
I don´t know if you understand german-but onky to see what i have... |
Guest, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 13:36
|
|
|
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/4889/bildschirmfoto1w.png
http://img708.imageshack.us/i/bildschirmfotoo.png/ |
matttbe, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 13:39
|
|
Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
|
Mmh, yes it's strange ! I don't know why it doesn't work...
But you can also launch your script in order to kill cairo-dock and start it again. |
Guest, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 14:09
|
|
|
Ok, i will repeat. I have two little problems:
1) after reboot everything starts just fine (no multiple instances)-only i have that pop up for "OpenGL". Do not know how to disable it. Script says to start whitout opengl:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal
conky
cairo-dock -c
2) problem-switching from internal to external display causes 2 instances of cairo dock-running:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output VGA1 --off
killall conky
killall cairo-dock
conky &
sleep 5 && cairo-dock -c
If i repeat script-only one instance starts (normal behaviour)
Switching to external display works normal. |
matttbe, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 19:00
|
|
Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
|
Do you have this problem if you stop Cairo-Dock just before the reboot ? |
Guest, Tuesday 09 February 2010 à 21:07
|
|
|
Interesting-No. If i kill cairo-dock before reboot, everything is normal-no pop-up.
? |
Installation problems | Problèmes à l'installation
|